Featured Sponsor

Become a Proud Sponsor of our Section’s Website

Advertise with Us - Learn More

Section Update

The Section welcomes its new chair for 2010-11, Jill Schwartz of Winter Park. Jill brings a wealth of leadership experience and employment law expertise to the Section as head of her ten lawyer employment law firm, former Florida NELA president, and a member of the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers. This year’s dedicated officers also include chair-elect Greg Hearing of Tampa, secretary/treasurer Sherril Colombo of Miami, legal education director Bob Turk of Miami, and immediate past chair, Eric Holshouser of Jacksonville.

The Section capped off a productive year under Eric Holshouser’s leadership at The Florida Bar’s Annual Meeting in June. The year included a full slate of CLE programs, scholarship awards for law students, robust and informative publications, and outreach to the judiciary, local bar associations, and Section membership. Eric thanked the Executive Council for their hard work during his term as chair and expressed special appreciation to Don Ryce and Marc Snow, who stepped down from the Executive Council after years of dedicated service. The Section also recognized Stephanie Williams Ray as Volunteer of the Year.

The Section promises another exciting year ahead. First up is the 36th Annual Public Employment Labor Relations Forum. This seminar will be held on September 23-24 in conjunction with The Florida Bar’s Midyear Meeting at the Hilton Orlando. Our second live seminar, When Summary Judgment Fails….Evidentiary Issues in Employment Cases, will be held on October 29 at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Hollywood. Information about both of these seminars can be found on this website. Of course, there will be other great programs throughout the Bar year including the return of our webinar series, our annual Certification Review Seminar and Advanced Labor Topics Seminar, and a Tallahassee CLE program geared toward government lawyers. All in all, the Section is poised for another outstanding year and we look forward to the involvement of all our membership in our programs and activities.

Comments are closed.