Stearns Weaver Miller Weissler Alhadeff and Sitterson

Featured Sponsor

Proud to be the First Sponsor of our Section’s Website

Advertise with Us - Learn More

Message from the Chair

Chairman photo


I hope this Message finds you enjoying happiness, prosperity and great health.

The Section is proud to have had an exceptional conference in Marco Island, where we were honored with presentations by the Acting Chair of the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, Victoria A. Lipnic, and Senior Policy Advisor for the Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor, Keith Sonderling, as well as Robert Weisberg, the Regional Attorney for the E.E.O.C. All offered excellent presentations and exclusive insight into recent developments at their respective agencies

In addition, the Section’s Long Range Planning Retreat in April was a great success, and Executive Council members discussed ways to enhance communication with the membership, including ways to improve our website and electronic services to simplify member access to the Section’s resources, publications, legal updates, as well as their Executive Council meeting participation.

You will not want to miss the upcoming CLE program at the Annual Florida Bar Convention on June 14th at 2:15 p.m.: “Because Legal Practice Isn’t Always a Day at the Movies: Health, Wellness, and a Welcoming Workplace for Lawyers and Their Clients.” The program ties in with The Florida Bar’s emphasis on wellness in the legal profession, and will be moderated by the Honorable Alan Forst of the Fourth District Court of Appeal as well as the Honorable Stephanie Ray of the First District Court of Appeal.

On June 14th, we will also honor the new inductee to the Section’s Hall of Fame. This year’s honoree is Jim Brown, former partner of FordHarrison. The presentation will be at 6:00 p.m. at the Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek, at the Annual Convention. The Hall of Fame was created as a means of posthumously honoring persons who made substantial contributions to the Labor and Employment Law Section and the practice of labor and employment law in Florida. The Hall of Fame is also designed to promote the achievements of those individuals through the awarding of scholarships, in the name of the section member, to deserving students attending Florida law schools. A special thank you to the co-chairs of the Schools Committee—Patrick Martin, Cristina Velez and Judge Stephanie Ray—for their assistance in the selection of the student scholarship recipients. At the presentation on June 14th, the students receiving scholarships will also be recognized.

This Bar year, through our conferences, active committees, and social activities, we continued to facilitate mentorship among Section members and continued to foster communication with the judiciary and government agencies. We also continued to strengthen our excellent continuing legal education programs and our member recruitment, involvement, and communications. And it is important to note that none of the activities could have happened without the endless time and dedication of Angie Froelich, our Section Administrator.

As always, I wish you a wealth of opportunities and good cheer.

Zascha Blanco Abbott | Chair